ICYMI: PGA of Canada Night

More than 500 people turned up to PGA of Canada Night last Thursday in Orlando, Fla., as part of the PGA Merchandise Show.

The annual gathering saw PGA of Canada professionals; association partners and friends; members of the media; PGA World Alliance members; and other special guests all in attendance to celebrate golf in Canada.

“What time PGA of Canada Night is,” said PGA of Canada president Mark Patterson. “The buzz in this room tonight was something I’ll never forget and truly made me proud to be a PGA of Canada member.”

“We had it all here tonight with Bob Week and Ian Leggatt as co-emcees, the honouring of our national award winners, the induction of the newest PGA of Canada Hall of Fame member and all the networking connections made was just first-class.”

The national award winners honoured were:

Murray Tucker Golf Professional of the Year—Debbie Savoy-Morel, Le Mirage; Quebec;
George Knudson Teacher of the Year—Gareth Raflewski, RiverBend Golf Community, Ontario;
Mike Weir Player of the Year—Pierre-Alexandre Bedard, Club de golf Cap Rouge; Quebec;
Ben Kern Coach of the Year—Jeff Chambers, Elmwood Golf & Country Club; Saskatchewan;
Moe Norman Candidate for Membership of the Year—Casey Ward, Credit Valley Golf & Country Club, Ontario;
Tex Noble Professional Development Award—Jason Giesbrecht, Royal Colwood Golf Club, British Columbia;
Pat Fletcher Retailer of the Year—Padraig Kelly, Ladies Golf Club of Toronto, Ontario;
Stan Leonard Class “A” Professional of the Year—Greg Pool, Capilano Golf & Country Club, British Columbia;
Jack McLaughlin Junior Leader of the Year—Jennifer Greggain, Chilliwack Golf Club, British Columbia;
Dick Munn Executive Professional of the Year—Alan Carter, Edmonton Country Club; Alberta;
George Cumming Distinguished Service Award—Sandy Jones, United Kingdom.

Additionally, Paul Sherratt was inducted into the PGA of Canada Hall of Fame.